My Current Skincare Routine – April 2017


So I thought it might be nice to share my current skincare routine with you. My skin at the moment is probably in the best condition it has been in a long time and I believe that is because, for possibly the first time in my life, I have a proper skincare routine. Up until about 25 I didn’t even use a moisturiser! I washed my face with whatever the cleanser was on offer at the supermarket at the time and then went straight on to applying my makeup. I can’t believe I never used to care! So baring that in mind I am very lucky to have the skin I have today. I’m 35 in a months time and whilst I do have some frown lines on my forehead, I definitely don’t have the skin of a 35 year old and because I want to keep it that way, I have now established a routine to suit my skin. 


Typically my skin type is Normal/Oily with the oily bit being my T-Zone. From what I’m aware that is quite a comment skin type. Then on top of that I can get quite a bumpy forehead when my skin is congested. I don’t really have any visible or open pores but I do get redness around my nose, on my cheeks and on my chin, although that is not all the time. I’m also lucky enough to be able to say that I don’t often get spots, but when I do they are usually on my chin or forehead. I have quite dark undereye circles and my eyelids are yellow in colour. 

The first part of any skincare routine should be cleansing and I have two preferred cleansers. The first is the Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser. I love using this every day. It just feels so nourishing and kind to my skin. It is great at removing my makeup and then leaving my skin feeling really fresh and clean. It doesn’t dry my skin out either like some products can.

The second cleanser I like to use is the Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter from The Body Shop and this one I like to use when I’ve done a face mask, particularly a stubborn clay one. I use this in conjunction with a face brush and gently buff the mask off my face to reveal soft, nourished skin underneath. 


After I have cleansed my face I apply the Trilogy COQ10 Eye Recovery Concentrate and I do this morning and night. I’ve been using this now for about 6 weeks and I have definitely noticed and improvement to my eye area, I have specifically noticed that my under eye circles are much less dark than they used to be and considering that I am a sleep deprived mummy that is quite the achievement! 

Next after I’ve used my eye treatment I use either my morning serum or my night time oil. 

In the mornings I use the Niod Multi – Molecular Hyaluronic Complex. The first thing I have to say about this is, if I’m being brutaly honest, I cannot stand the smell, it smells like vinegar! But you have to get past that because honestly, this is THE BEST serum I have ever used on my face. It really has helped to improve the look and condition of my skin. You’ve just got to try it! 

If it’s my night time skincare routine that I’m doing then I reach for the Argan+ Moroccan Rose Night Time Facial Oil. As you would expect from a night serum, it is greasier and heavier than something I would be comfortable using during the day, but in the morning I wake up with plump, hydrated, nourished skin. 


The last part of my everyday skincare routine is moisturiser. The moisturiser I use in the morning is the Caudalie Face Lifting Moisturiser. I just find it so hydrating and it just feels so silky smooth, plus it doesn’t leave my skin feeling tacky once applied. 

The moisturiser I use after my night time Cleanse is the Nip & Fab Soften – Kale Fix Moisturiser. This is a bit thicker than the Caudalie one and it does leave my skin feeling tacky after it has dried so I don’t like to use it during the day, but that’s not something I’m bothered about at night time, plus that aside I do really like this product because it really hydrates my skin during the night. 

As well as the above routine which I do every day morning and night there are a few products that I use inbetween. One of which is the Himalayan Charcoal Purifying Mask from The Body Shop. I like to do this at least once a week to get a really deep clean and to clear my pores. I also pop on some collagen eye patches at the same time to plump up my undereye area.


As well as the using the face mask once a week I also use the MD Skincare Alpha Beta Daily Face Peel Pads. I use these twice a week and I really feel like these are helping to smooth out the little bumps on my forehead. 

Lastly I use the Murad Blemish Spot Treatment on any nasty little spots that may pop up at any given time on my face.

So that my current skincare routine. What are you using at the moment and do you think it’s working ? 

Rachel xoxo 

6 thoughts on “My Current Skincare Routine – April 2017

  1. Wow! Can’t believe that you didn’t take much care of your skin coz your skin looks quite good! Yep, skin care routines are very important…. I follow a very small routine… the normal cleansing followed by the moisturiser every morning and night… Any tips for me to increase the number of rituals?

    ❤️
    L.R.
    THE RINK

    Like

  2. Yes you look good for your age I actually thought you were younger. I can actually relate to the start about having no real skincare routine. Also I can vouch for Trilogy it does wor wonders and it helps heaps with hydration for when you apply con concealer under the eyes no creasing

    Like

Leave a Reply

