Best In Beauty 2016

2016 has left us and it’s time for a new year and a fresh start. Lots of exciting new products to launch in 2017 that I’m looking forward to. First though let’s take a look at some of the great products that were around in 2016. This of course is my personal opinion, these are my favourite items from my makeup collection in 2016, you might agree with some of them or you might think I’ve liked some terrible products! Whatever your thoughts maybe you will find a product that you’d like to try. At the very least I hope you enjoy reading this post. I’m going to list these in order of the way I apply my makeup so let’s start with a flawless base….

Primer

My go to primer of 2016 was the Laura Mercier Oil Free Foundation Primer. Now I have to say, this does have a bit of a strange smell, it smells like bubbles! You know, bubbles that you blow when your a kid! It’s not nasty, it’s just weird! But even smelling like bubbles it is still my favourite Primer of the year. I suffer from oily skin and it really does keep me looking matte during the day. This retails for £29 and is available from the Laura Mercier website.
Foundation


Without a doubt my favourite foundation of 2016 was the Revlon Colourstay Foundation. This retails at £12.99 so it’s very affordable and in my opinion it rivals a high end foundation no problem. I wear the shade 180 Sand Beige in the Combination/Oily Formula and for me it is the perfect flawless coverage. This a full coverage foundation, it’s easy to blend, the colour is a perfect match for me and it last all day. 100% recommend this foundation. 

A close second in the foundation catagory is the Boujois 123 Perfect Foundation. This is a lighter coverage foundation but it’s still good for giving a flawless radiant base. I wear the shade Vanilla and it retails for £10.99.

Concealer

Thanks to Zoella and her makeup tutorials this year I have discovered the Boujois Radiance Reveal Concealer. I love love love this concealer. It’s absolutely perfect for brightening up my under eye area, an area that can get very dark on me thanks to lots of sleepless nights. I wear the shade TO1 Light and find it really does lift my complexion nicely. This concealer retails at £7.99.


Loose Powder

I will admit that I would never in a million years have tried any of the makeup from the Primark PS…Pro Collection. Not because I’m a makeup snob – I will happily buy budget makeup, in fact some of my favourite products are from Makeup Revolution, MUA and Collection – but because I’m not a fan of buying makeup from companies that are not solely cosmetics based. I feel like companies who just sell Cosmetics concentrate more on the products, the formulas, the colours and just generally the quality of the products more than a company that’s main focus isn’t their makeup line. However, this is most definitely proving me wrong! I actually got this in a Glossybox and wasn’t even going to bother trying it but I’m so glad I did. This powder is so soft and so finely milled it’s perfect for baking my under eyes and setting my concealer into a flawless finish. You can buy this from any Primark store and it retails for £5. 

Brows

There are 2 stand out products for me in the brow department this year. I have been loving using the Anastasia Beverley Hills Dipbrow Pomade. The colour, the consistency and the formula just works really well for me. If I’ve got time to spend a lot of time on my makeup then the ABH would be what I reach for to do my brows and I wear the shade Blonde. ABH Dipbrow Pomade retails for £15 and I got mine from Beauty Bay.


My number one brow product though for this year is without a doubt the Benefit Goof Proof Brow Pencil. It is just literally so easy! You can have the perfect brow in seconds. So easy to use, it’s creamy, it doesn’t drag across the skin and the colour that I use – 2 – is just the perfect shade for my brows. I absolutely love it and I’ll be honest, I don’t think I will look at any other brow pencils for as long as I live! Yes that’s right, I Rachel do take the Goof Proof Brow Pencil to be my lawful wedded Eyebrow Pencil, to have and to hold, on good brow days and bad, as long as we both shall live! The Goof Proof Brow Pencil retails for £18.

Eyeshadows


The first Eyeshadow Palette I have really enjoyed using this year – and probably the one I have reached for the most – is the Cargo Cosmetics Vintage Escape Palette. These Eyeshadows are just so beautiful, the colours are just perfectly me and they are so pigmented, so buttery and creamy. I find I can make so many gorgeous looks out of this palette and they just blend beautifully. When I bought this palette it was £14.99, however I believe you can get it much cheaper now in some stores. 


There’s another Palette that I have really enjoyed using this year and that is this Nude Toned Palette from Wet & Wild. I am based in the UK and we don’t get Wet & Wild in the UK so I actually got this in a box swap that I did in a FB group with a beautiful girl from America called Brittney. The palette features some gorgeous neutral tones that are perfect for using with other palettes as crease and transition colours and of course there’s enough colours to create a beautiful natural eye look using this palette alone. I don’t actually know how much this palette retails for but I know that Wet & Wild is a drugstore brand in the US and so it will be very affordable. 

Lastly in the Eyeshadow section I had to give Colourpop a mention for their Super Shock Shadows. These are just amazing! When I first felt the consistency of these I was so confused! They are like a sort of squishy gel/powder. Just so weird! When I first used one of the Colourpop Super Shock Shadows I couldn’t believe how pretty and pigmented they are. Honestly, if you haven’t tried any of these you really need to. Colourpop is currently a US only brand but they do ship to the UK (you will get customs on orders over £15 so bare that in mind) and Shadows are $5 each.

Mascara


In 2016 I discovered Tarte Cosmetics and I’ve so glad I did because their Lights, Camera, LASHES Mascara and Lash Primer quickly became my go to! Using these 2 products together gives me the most amazing, fluttery, long lashes I could only dream of.

Bronzer

The Benefit Hoola Bronzer is the Bronzer I am choosing as my favourite this year. I am told that this is perfect for contouring, however I don’t contour. I use this all over my face for a sun kissed glow. This is quite pigmented though so make sure you use a light hand and build it up otherwise you will end up with a muddy face! Benefit Hoola Bronzer is available from the Benefit website and retails at £23.

Blusher

My favourite blusher of 2016 is the Sleek Blush in the shade Rose Gold. It’s just so pretty & flushed looking. A lot of people say that this is a great dupe for Nars Orgasm so I’m going to pick that up this year and do a comparison. It’s a super pretty rosey pink colour with a gold tone to it, exactly as the name would suggest! This retails at £5 and is totally worth picking up. 

Highlighter


The Highlighter that I have reached for the most in 2016 is not actually a highlighter! Yes you read that right! It’s an eyeshadow! Specifically the Kiko Milano Water Eyeshadow in the Shade 208. This is just the perfect Champagne Gold colour that I love. I couldn’t imagine doing anything else with it other than sweeping it across my cheekbones. It’s just so pretty and at £8 it’s really affordable as well. 

Liquid Lipstick


In 2016 I fell in love with Gerard Cosmetics. Particularly their Hydra Matte Liquid Lipsticks. Liquid Lipsticks were BIG in 2016 and these for me are up there with the best. They retail at £10.50 each (this often fluctuates because of the £/$) and in my opinion they are totally worth it. They are really nice to apply, they don’t feel too drying which a lot of Liquid Lipsticks can, they are long lasting and they have the prettiest shades available. If you love Liquid Lipsticks then you HAVE to try these. 

Setting Spray


Lastly, of course, is Setting Spray. I have chosen the Gerard Cosmetics Slay All Day Setting Spray, specifically the Peach one as my favourite of the year. It smells A-MAZING, like really amazing. It’s so refreshing and it keeps my makeup in place all day long. I love it!

Well that wraps up the Best In Beauty 2016 in my opinion, what products did you like in 2016? I’d love you to let me know in the comments below. 

Rachel xoxo

One thought on “Best In Beauty 2016

Leave a Reply

